Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Why So Many Concept Cars

Default Why So Many Concept Cars

I've always been a big fan of GM and the Camaro in particular, and I've been drooling over the new Camaro since before the first TF movie was announced. It was the coolest thing that my favorite Autobot would end up being my favorite car. I used to own a yellow '77 camaro just like the one Bumblebee starts TF1 as (and I've been wishing I still did for the last two years). And I'm planning on snagging one of the new ones if Chevy ever actually sells one.

But one thing is starting to bug me about this. When I was a kid, part of the allure of Transformers was that nearly all of them were based on real-world vehicles. It was exciting to look at every VW Bug, Toyota Van, 280 Z, Army Jeep, and flat-nosed semi, and wonder if it might be a "robot in disguise". Sure, common sense told you they couldn't be, but how could you really be sure?

But now that it seems like TF2's autobot lineup is made up almost entirely by imaginary/prototype vehicles, a lot of that mystique is gone. Unless there is some sort of conversion kit, we will never see a Camaro on the street like the one in the first TF movie. GM has refined it and it is subtly, but perceptibly different now. For all practical purposes, that car doesn't exist. They have already changed the design of the Volt since principle photography, so that car now only exists as a prototype.

The original series of TF toys sort of took the same course. Eventually imaginary vehicles like Hot Rod and Kup started to get introduced and consequently I lost a lot of interest.

Am I the only one just a little bothered by this trend?

Default Re: Why So Many Concept Cars

Quote Originally Posted by samson7point1 View Post